The Ohio University School of Music and Ohio University Bands (Athens, Ohio, USA) invites composers to submit one (1) musical work to be considered for the ’23 FANFARES OHIO UNIVERSITY BANDS CENTENNIAL CALL FOR SCORES. Each winner’s work will be:

  • PERFORMED by one of the concert bands of Ohio University: Wind Symphony, Symphonic Band, or Concert Band during the 2019/20 season

  • RECORDED for commercial album release

  • PUBLISHED or distributed by ADJ-ective Music, subject to the composer’s preference

 In 2023 the Ohio University Bands will celebrate 100 years since its founding in 1923. To recognize the program’s continued dedication to new music and living composers, and to provide an opportunity to showcase a diversity of compositional voices, this call for scores will result in twenty-three distinct “fanfares” that will be performed, recorded and published or distributed over the course of the next four years. The intention is that once the project is completed, ’23 FANFARES will be comprised of twenty-three original and diverse pieces by distinct compositional voices that in total present a significant contribution to the repertoire.


This call for scores will recur annually over the next four years, resulting in the following number of winners per year: 

2019-2020    Five (5)

2020-2021    Six (6)

2021-2022    Six (6)

2022-2023    Six (6)


Each winning work will be a celebratory work for wind band, between 3-5 minutes in duration, for the following suggested instrumentation:


Flute 1-2

Oboe 1-2

[English horn optional]

Bassoon 1-2

[Contrabassoon optional]

B-flat Clarinet 1-3

Bass Clarinet

Alto Saxophone 1-2 [or Soprano and Alto]

Tenor Saxophone 

Baritone Saxophone

Horn in F 1-4

B-flat [or C] Trumpet 1-3

Trombone 1-2

Bass Trombone



Double Bass



Other instrumentation permutations are possible, including the use of piano, expanded percussion, instruments outside of the traditional wind band, electronics, or multimedia.

Composers are encouraged to consider the following question: “What can a ‘fanfare’ be in the 21stcentury?” Compositions need not be bound by tropes of traditional fanfare or wind band writing; to the contrary, composers are encouraged to embrace innovation and ingenuity, including multi-disciplinarity, so long as the resultant music is celebratory in nature.


Composers of any age, nationality, or institutional affiliation, are eligible to submit scores. This project seeks to reflect the diversity of today’s contemporary music scene, valuing equity and inclusion; therefore, composers from historically underrepresented groups, and from all stylistic backgrounds, are encouraged to submit.


1) Composers may submit only one (1) musical work to be considered. 

2) The submission method should be entirely electronic, and should include:

- Full score in PDF format. Please use the following format to title the file: LASTNAME_TITLE.pdf

- An accompanying recording (live or midi) in mp3 format, if available. Please use the following format to title the file: LASTNAME_TITLE.mp3.

- Full contact information, including name, address, email, phone

- Curriculum vitae and/or short bio.

- Hard copies will not be accepted.

- There is NO submission fee. 

3) Submissions should be sent via email or shared via file-sharing service to EMAIL ADDRESS. 

4) Entries must be received by April 15, 2019 at 11:59 PM to be considered.


1) Winners will be notified via email onJune 1, 2019. Winners must provide final score, parts, and any other performance materials using the same methods as detailed in requirement 2 (see above). While there are no resources to support winning composers to travel to performances of their pieces, composers are more than welcome to attend. 

2) Each winning composition will receive a performance in concert by one of the concert bands at Ohio University: Wind Symphony, Symphonic Band, or Concert Band.

3) Each winning composition will be recorded by the Ohio University Wind Symphony for commercial release.

4) Each winning composition will be considered for publication, or distribution, through ADJ•ective New Music, a small music publishing and distribution company based in Western New York.


Any questions regarding the ’23 FANFARES call for scores should contact the project director and director of bands at Ohio University, Dr. Andrew Trachsel at trachsel@ohio.edu


The Ohio University Bands, and particularly the Wind Symphony, seek to explore new and unconventional means of creativity. Please visit the following links to see performances from the annual AMPERSAND Festivals for examples of programming possibilities.

AMPERSAND2017: A Public Conveyance by Wolfmen, featuring Corrinne Bailey and Wolfmen

AMPERSAND2018: monsters like me by D. Turner Matthews, featuring Triangulus and Light/Projection Installation


Started by composers Jamie Leigh Sampson and Andrew Martin Smith in 2010, ADJ•ective strives to introduce contemporary music to new audiences in the concert hall, studio, and classroom through group and private instruction, event presentation, and music production and distribution. In 2015, the company expanded to include the ADJ•ective Composers’ Collective, which promotes and distributes the works of select self-published composers, their rental catalogs, and other creative projects. Additionally, the Lexical Tones Podcast—hosted by Robert McClure—is housed under the ADJ•ective New Music umbrella. This podcast offers a weekly conversation with a guest composer, performer, and/or artist creating new works of contemporary art/music.